Finding Creative Solutions To Your Legal Challenges

An overview of New Jersey cocaine laws

On Behalf of | Sep 25, 2023 | Criminal Defense |

New Jersey law prohibits anyone from possessing, selling or trafficking cocaine within its borders. There are a number of penalties that you may face if convicted of a drug crime related to the possession or sale of this controlled substance. Penalties may include probation for first-time offenders or jail and a fine for those who have a record or who have engaged in a violent drug offense.

Possession of cocaine

If you are found to be in possession of cocaine, you could be fined up to $35,000. You may also be sentenced to jail time or other penalties depending on if you have a criminal record and other factors. If you are found with a substantial amount of cocaine, you could be charged with an attempt to sell or traffic it. As part of your criminal defense strategy, it may be possible to dispute that the cocaine belonged to you.

Selling or trafficking cocaine

A conviction for selling or trafficking cocaine depends on the quantity of the substance that you were found with or trying to sell. It also depends on where you were trying to sell it and who you were trying to sell it to. For instance, if you were attempting to sell more than five ounces, you could go to prison and face a $300,000 fine. The penalties would be double for selling within 1,000 feet of a school, to a minor or to a pregnant person.

Although you may be charged with possession or attempting to sell cocaine, there is no guarantee that you’ll be convicted. It’s possible that a prosecutor will offer a plea deal or that casting doubt on evidence presented at trial will result in an acquittal at trial.